Horoscopes – Real or Fake?

Next up on your astrology journey is to learn about horoscopes. If you’ve ever seen company Snapchat stories, Buzzfeed posts, or any magazine, you know that there are countless articles for your “daily horoscope.” I personally doubt the truthfulness of horoscopes, but I think that you should decide for yourself after reading this post.

Daily Horoscope for 11 November, Saturday
“Daily Horoscope for 11 November, Saturday.” Just Zodiac Things, 10 Nov. 2017, http://www.justzodiacthings.com/daily-horoscope-11-november-saturday/.


Horoscopes are predictions for each zodiac sign based on the position of the stars and planets at a person’s birth. They can be as vague as predicting that you’ll run into a challenge in the next week, or as specific as predicting that your friend will cancel your dinner plans tomorrow. Horoscopes usually come with advice along with the prediction. There are horoscopes for all aspects of your life, such as career, love, and finance.

Astrofame. “Cancer: Your Daily Horoscope.” MSN, Microsoft News, 1 May 2019, http://www.msn.com/en-us/lifestyle/horoscope/cancer/ar-AAyADnw.

Example Horoscope for Cancer 5/1

There are patterns in astronomy that influence how horoscopes are created, such as planets going in retrograde, lunar eclipses, and solar eclipses. This 2019 horoscope makes extensive use of eclipses to predict how will you feel at the time of them. As you can see, horoscopes aren’t randomly made.

Horoscopes are fun to look at, and I look at mine sometimes out of curiosity. However, I am very hesitant about following my horoscope because I don’t want it to affect my mindset. For example, mercury retrograde means that you will have problems in communication and relationships. Of course, I don’t want there to be problems in my relationships, but by thinking about it, I feel like I develop a mindset that looks for communication problems. I would also rather go with the flow and not know what is “supposed” to happen.

Also, every website can have different horoscopes for the same sign on the same day. This discrepancy is different from zodiac signs, which have the same descriptions on every site. Which site do you trust? How do you know which one is accurate? Horoscopes are just too subjective for me to follow. To compare, here are 2 love horoscopes for Scorpios on May 1:

“Scorpio Love Horoscope: May 1, 2019.” Horoscope.com, 1 May 2019, http://www.horoscope.com/us/horoscopes/love/horoscope-love-daily-today.aspx?sign=8.

Astrofame. “Scorpio Weekly Horoscope.” MSN, Microsoft News, http://www.msn.com/en-in/lifestyle/lifestylehoroscopefish/scorpio-weekly-horoscope-22-apr-2019-monday-28-apr-2019-sunday/ar-AAvxAwQ?li=AAvHFQ8.

Some may argue that the horoscopes different because both situations are true. In the end, horoscopes come down to the unique events in every person’s life, and they might be true for some people but not others. It’s up to each person to do their own research and decide if they believe in them.

If you’re curious, there are tons of websites for finding out your horoscope for free. There are also apps you can download for daily horoscopes and detailed astrological analysis. My favorite is Co – Star, and I would highly recommend downloading it! It creates your birth chart, has a detailed explanation of each of your planetary signs, and gives you detailed daily horoscopes.


18 thoughts on “Horoscopes – Real or Fake?

  1. Yiwei,

    I thought this post was very interesting! Although I do not look at my horoscope every day, I am always interested in what it has to say. I didn’t know that there are different horoscopes for one day. I will definitely start looking into that more in the future. I do agree with you when you said that you try not to let the description of your day affect you too much. I wouldn’t want to read a negative horoscope and then believe that my day is going to be negative like the horoscope predicted. I can’t wait to read your next blog!

    Thanks,
    Sonia Bhattacharya

    Like

    1. Hi Sonia! Horoscopes are definitely a less understood part of astrology, and I found it surprising at first that they actually were based off of planetary movement. Horoscopes can be motivational and might be a cool addition to your life!

      Like

  2. Hey Yiwei!
    I personally love reading my horoscope as well as other the horoscopes of other people and I found this post very intriguing. There were so many new things that I learned about horoscopes from this post. I do not really know if I believe in horoscope thought. I think a lot of the time what might be happening is that people change their behavior based on the horoscope, so it seems as if the horoscopes are really affecting the person.
    Thanks,
    Samidha Menon

    Like

    1. Hi Samidha! I’m glad that this post was informative for you. Also, I totally agree that people sometimes unconsciously change their behavior based on their horoscope.

      Like

  3. Hey Yiwei,
    I love your blog so much!! As soon as I was done reading I looked up my horoscope and downloaded Co-Star. I don’t think I believe it either. It’s just fun to look at sometimes. I agree that I will get in the mind set of expecting what my horoscope says and look for things that might apply to it. I don’t think I should take them too seriously and just live in the moment and go with the flow.
    Sapna

    Like

    1. Hi Sapna, I’m glad that you downloaded Co-Star! I completely agree that people shouldn’t take their horoscope too seriously and that it’s mostly just used for fun.

      Like

  4. Hi Yiwei!
    I love your post! I don’t really read my horoscope, but I do know my zodiac sign. To be completely honest, in my opinion, horoscopes are too generalized and they might somehow apply to an individual. I think it is very interesting that you chose to write about horoscopes/zodiac signs as in the Indian culture, these play a pivotal role in making particular decisions, such as deciding function dates and seeing compatibility between two individuals. I look forward to reading your next post!!

    Best,
    Divya Ravindra

    Like

    1. Hi Divya! I think it’s so interesting that astrology is important in many cultures, and I want to learn more about how it’s used. I might make a post related to that, so thank you for the idea!

      Like

  5. Dear Yiwei,

    I really enjoyed reading your post and felt that it was very informative for me as astrology is not something I’m that familiar with. In my culture, astrology plays a large role in the arranged marriage process so it was nice to have someone break down the basics for me. However, I’m not sure if I’m a believer myself as it feels like life is one big series of chances processes that happen at random and no model can fully predict what is going to happen. I do enjoy reading my horoscope for entertainment and feel that is a fun way to pass the time.

    Sincerely,
    Shrika Eddula

    Like

    1. Hi Shrika! I didn’t know that astrology played a role in arranged marriages! I agree that horoscopes can’t predict the several events happen just by chance.

      Like

  6. Hey Yiwei,
    I absolutely loved your blog! Just finishing another horoscope blog, one difference that I found was that you made it especially reader-friendly by not asserting a position whether horoscopes are real or not but simply stated information on both sides of the argument and let the reader decide for themselves. Personally, I believe that horoscopes are a total bust and that the alignment of the stars should not impact your personality whatsoever and your blog helped me reinforce that a little more. Overall, I found your blog entertaining and I can’t wait to see what about horoscopes you talk about next!

    Like

    1. Hi Jonathan! I’m glad that you learned more from this post and that you enjoyed reading it! Horoscopes, and astrology in general, aren’t going to be true for everyone, so I totally get where you’re coming from. Thanks for the great feedback!

      Like

  7. Hey Yiwei, great post! I personally didn’t really know the difference between horoscopes and astrology in the first place, which explains why I was always so doubtful about everything relating to the subject. Your post helps clarify a lot of the confusion and it’s interesting to see how people interpret their horoscope.

    Like

    1. Hi Sidney, I’m glad that my post was able to clear your confusion! A lot of people don’t know the difference between horoscopes and zodiac signs, and one of my goals was to clear that up in this post.

      Like

  8. Dear Yiwei,

    I’ve always been really interested in horoscopes and I found your blog very informational and interesting. I did not realize that astrology had an influence on horoscopes and that that is the way they were found. I do not believe horoscopes are real but, I do think that they have generalizations that can apply to the majority of people so they do seem accurate. I agree that horoscopes can limit you and so it is best to believe that you can do whatever you want and not feel like you have to follow this label.
    Thank you,
    Paola

    Like

    1. Hi Paola! I completely agree that horoscopes are basically generalizations that are meant to apply to everyone. Most horoscopes are very vague because they are for each sign, and there are only 12 different signs. I’m glad that this post was informative for you!

      Like

  9. Hey Yiwei!!
    I always look at horoscopes for fun and I can relate to not knowing whether they have any bit of accuracy. I like how you included both opinions and left the reader with their own decision of choosing an idea. This topic is very interesting to me and I would love to read more on horoscopes and astrology in the future!!
    – Hannah Chang

    Like

    1. Hi Hannah! I tried to keep this post neutral and let the readers decide, and I’m glad that it worked! I look at horoscopes for fun all the time too.

      Like

Leave a comment